It Was The Best Of Times, It Was The Worst Of Times

And we’re down to our last bottle/blog post.

Okay, so I stared at that last line for quite a while because I realized I did not really know what to write. Well, technically, I do — I want to rehash the year through a very cliché list of the highlights with cute little anecdotes here and there, but I did not know where to start. My English teachers have been telling me ever since time immemorial that a catchy introduction is worth a hell lot and I have always believed the same thing, but pardon me if right now, I am just clueless as what to put here that would qualify for such requirement. Apologies to Dickens, then.

The clock has just struck twelve and we are officially down to our last twenty-four hours. That sets the bar pretty high, sounding so dramatic and so.. final. For today, everyone has their hopes up without the very legitimate fear of said hopes ending up in ashes, the kind you bring up in future drinking sprees as a joke (Hahaha, pare, I was totally going to quit smoking, but you know, whatever), and I will not bitch out (as much as I usually do) and go on all cynical weirdo on you people for one simple little reason: I am a New Year’s Eve whore. Always have, always will.

See, I have always loved John Locke and believed that this day is our annual tabula rasa — however bullshit that sounds. Since I have professed on and on that consistency is my one weak point, it logically follows that I am such a fan of the concept of starting all over, no matter how flawed or superficial or delusional that may be to some/most people. I have out with the old, in with the new etched into my bones, and yes that is a very lame exaggeration to say the least but that’s my point right there.

It is actually pretty ironic that to be able to really go forward and start all over again, you have to feel the familiar pangs of an ending first, right? On this day the word “reminiscing” will surely be overused, as if what is embedded in memory gains prime importance in our lives again. Nothing wrong with that, I guess — the fact that we have something to look back on is a reminder on its own: how far we’ve come, how different things/we are right now.

^Yep, attempt at introduction still sucks. Might as well get on with it to minimize opportunities for further self-loathing.

I have beaten the New Year hype by a few weeks for declaring ever so explicitly in a blog post (and probably through a Facebook status update / tweet / every damn conversation I had since the first of December) that 2012 is hands down, the best year of my life. Here is some of the reasons why, in no particular order.

Moving into a new home, getting an amazing room 

2012-12-22 17.57.18

Tantamount to productivity (or at least, time you would enjoy wasting) is a breathing space of your own. I got mine this year.

We moved in last January into a spacious — well, spacious compared to the last place — townhouse, still in VC. Mom apparently found it one night as she was riding past the gates, with a sign that said a 3-bedroom unit was up for grabs. Since my family is one of those weird ones who are actually pretty close and thus tell each other everything, from the minute details of our daily lives to the monumental declarations, she casually told us about it over brunch the next day, daydreaming about how she’d fix it up, how we’d sure to bring friends over more than usual since we are to have rooms of our own, if ever. We went over to check it out that very afternoon, and mom paid an advance later on, for we are moving in less than a month’s time. Impulsiveness runs in the family.

The apartment we were living in back then (wow, a year sounds so far away now) had two rooms — one that mom and us kids shared, with a conjoined single bed and a double to house five sleeping bodies, the other one shared by mom’s aunt and our maid. Since it was situated directly in front of my high school, literally everyone in my class has hanged out there one way or another. We even had the nerve to offer that shoebox after a friend’s debut one time, the living room that night looked like an evacuation shelter for about fifteen people were crammed in the living room. I of course being selfish left them to take their positions (one even slept UNDER the dining table for reasons definitely reeking of alcohol and my lack of hospitality) and went upstairs and crashed onto my ever-loving bed, where it was cold and cozy. Oh shush, you were there, and you loved it.

Turning 18

No I wasn’t a debutante. Instead:

544996_245612095542841_966494000_n

I spent my birthday afternoon with myself. I originally wanted to go out of town and do some exploring on my own but my parents were throwing me a drinking party a few days after and so I wasn’t in a position to ask for a couple of thousands for a wayward trip. Anyway, it was a beautiful rainy afternoon. I spent it reading Flaubert, writing napkin poetry, eating pasta, having coffee, and waltzing up to Lighters Galore to ask for a box of cigs hoping the lady would ask me how old I am because I have prepared a very confident, raspy “I’m eighteen” comeback.

If there’s anything I did a lot of this year and would want to bring over to 2013, it’s spending loads of time with myself — and not in the sad, FM Static-kind way. I wouldn’t be able to count and I even doubt that I could remember all of the times I went away by myself this year, but if there’s anything I am certain of it’s the fact that I always came back home feeling amazing. There’s something about having no one to answer to but yourself. It goes beyond freedom and plunges more into liberty. Spoiling myself equates to self-discovery, and if anything that’s what made this year the best. Writing this now, although I am still perpetually confused over an array of things and perhaps I will always be, I am more assured of the things I want, even more of what I don’t. That’s what matters most, and that isn’t such a bad place to start the new year with, right?

(continued around 5PM, 31st Dec)

Kalay

I took up a year of Philosophy in PUP before I dropped out and then transferred to Kalay for the second sem of 11-12. While I wasn’t exactly anti-social, it’s safe to say I only started going out with people from my school last summer. I’m graduating by 2014, and saying spending my last months in college with these people makes my college years the best is an understatement. :)

304390_291039937666723_2119902768_n

Kalayaan Review Launch Party

483497_3437100826391_1498733084_n

One particular lazy afternoon with Kalay Lit Sirkol during Org Week

529593_407858959251790_2135522310_n

Random Thursday night in Katipunan

553923_260302367407147_914828405_n 555189_10150910930731987_581306434_n (1) 541604_260302834073767_1943571727_n

UP Pride March in June ’12 and then Red Horse and Red Hot Chili Peppers after

I am probably getting the most out of college, as my mother says. It’s not about the collegey everyday starting at 4PM drinking sessions either, it’s being around like-minded folks and feeling for the most part that anything is possible since you’re young (and wild, and free) and the world is up for grabs, yours for the taking. Believing that with utmost certainty, even if such mindset reputedly only lasts until graduation is definitely something to be thankful for every single day.

PLUS, The Art Collective

And then, there’s PLUS — a rowdy bunch I have gotten extremely close to this year. Seriously, these people have been like family, and it’s not just because some of them spoil the hell out of me. I have always respected the wisdom of those who are older. I have never been one of those angsty teens who mumble “just because you’re older doesn’t mean you’re right” every chance they get with an annoying pout. I appreciated the wisdom that came with experience, and surely people more advanced in years than us has a little more clenched under their belts, don’t they?

Coincidentally, I have discovered — and pursued — passions mainly through them. I don’t know what wrong turn I took early in my life but I am seriously glad for stumbling on a burning love for literature and philosophy. These people did too, and *awww* we found each other amidst a (albeit literally) mind-boggling maze. Sleepovers aren’t really sleepovers for debates lasted into morning, until one by one we fall silent and then wake up late into the afternoon having this hankering for ice cream. Always ice cream.

This year has been eventful in more ways than one. During the summer, I had a reason to kick myself for not getting into the coveted UP Applied Physics program ( my HS scores were dismal, have always been an English nerd until recently ) for our talks now covered black holes and spacetime and galaxies and neutrinos and whatnot.

547211_235596389877745_2072853205_n

One night in April, Steve, the one morally responsible for joining such crazy souls into one org, had some members of the Dark Sky Network join us. I think this was the night I met Elaine. And look, Alvin,  your hair is still.. there! :D

581197_249758738461510_712872557_n

This one was during Venus Transit. We camped since eleven PM over at ADMU where the Manila Observatory is located, fought yawns and jammed (Steve brought his guitar literally everywhere) until about six, and then waited for first contact with other people from PAS. After we headed to UP to check out what’s going on there and then I fell asleep during the drive back to Marikina and didn’t really care what happened after because I was so damn tired, but nonetheless happy.

253327_249758848461499_1399272266_n

I was about to make a pun looking all Sciencey and stuff but hey my hair color looks nice on this I should probably go for touch-ups. :D

For the second half of 2012, they had treks almost every two weeks. Broke-ass college student style, I wasn’t able to come even once — but I can’t wait for the one this January! We’re climbing Mt. Pico de Loro and I am advertising it here because this blog shall serve as a wall of shame if I don’t join them.

201046_3335883014549_267651806_o (1)

One of Elaine’s gorgeous shots. Mt. Batulao, October.

Meanwhile here’s an adorable photo of Steve just because.

156417_235596339877750_1162922661_n

178225_3304841158522_1866639027_o

Elaine and I during Dulaang Kalay’s The Woman in Black. She’s my VIP.

And of course, who would forget the PLUS Benefit Gig? :)

459012_3486336815800_1671655841_o

Reading “Daybreak” and then singing Man in the Mirror with some of my favorite guys in the world :)

256288_3486360496392_253839351_o

And then an acoustic set with my brother Josh later into the evening.

615174_3486338495842_1161331960_o

With mommy ever-the-stage-mommy and Clai, Josh’s girlfriend of two years.

I have to say, apart from the ice cream/Red Horse-induced talks with these people covering everything from Physics to Philosophy, one of the best treats of this year is getting to jam with them almost every week. And it’s not just the talent that made making music with them worth the two-hour commute to Steve’s home in Marikina, it’s also how fun (Royal extra kulit :D) and easy everything is when you’re with them. Family indeed. :) Heart heart, PLUS!

Happy Mondays Poetry Nights

So I have unabashedly stamped my forehead with the writer label since I was a bipolar (sometimes nerdy, always sassy) little girl and of course it only follows that at some point, I would want to try out and see if other people can make sense of my poetry right? This year I had the nerve to submit a poem to Happy Mondays Productions and got to perform for them twice alongside other writers, even *the* Marne Kilates. Reading his “Name-Giving” after a long stretch of zero productivity inspired a poem or two. :)

21714_225705820896471_1064439423_n

The November installment. Sang “Sway” with Steve on his axe first.

266073_311122468991803_226584634_o

Two of my HS bestfriends came for support. This one was taken over dinner at Cannan, Katipunan Ave before heading to Tomato Kick.

704868_10200245819251988_1524046532_o

The December installment. This time, I had my brother back me up with his bass. Did a cover of Sinosikat’s “Prayer” as well before reading two poems.

I have been enamored with poetry since high school until present. There is still a lot to read, to learn. I have been and I want to keep on writing poems, I might even submit for the IYAS poetry fellowship as well. This year I’ll be trying my luck with fiction and creative non-fiction, too. For the whole of December I have been reading short story anthologies and essays from the 80’s to the present and to put it simply I think I have yet to prove myself. Still, all out support for contemporary Philippine literature!

hmondays

Rock Loqal 2012

Now this one’s a highlight not only because I got to see all of my favorite local acts in one night but because I managed to win two patron tickets to this concert. :D

68632_310345082402875_748167697_n

Managed to score them because of a very desperate three-paragraph answer to a question. Dickies asked fans who their favorite act is and why, and I keyed this email around two in the morning hoping for a blessing of the universe, so pardon my bullshit.

rockloq

.. of course, things this year only took a turn for greatness and when I met up with the rep, he handed me VIP passes. Cool!

272668_310811289022921_1374129486_o

I brought one of my closest friends, Tsini, and together we looked very, very unladylike slamming to Slapshock and Wilabaliw. Must have lost fifteen pounds that night. :D

621864_311121308991919_790609585_o

Me finding no point in hiding my happiness. :>

289502_311121808991869_1210962192_o

Kat, the epitome of the ideal woman. :D Sinosikat came after Slapshock so I was gasping for breath while shouting the lyrics of “So Blue” and “Mr. Musikero”. I swear, she stared directly at me for about thirty seconds and technically we sang together. I guess it was hard not to wonder what’s wrong with the crazy woman in front row. :D

475443_311121645658552_1877956351_o

It is very obvious that I have a crush on Ian Tayao because I took a rough estimate of fifty photos of him that night. ;) Ian, Me Techie Love You Long Time. <3

330403_311371005633616_1610524013_o

This is a photo of me during a rock concert to fool you into thinking that I am fun and lively. :)))

Old friends we will never get tired of, even if they asked us to

I met some of the greatest souls this year but I am also fortunate enough to still be able to keep the ones I already knew around. There’s something about spending the whole weekend in bed with your best friends from high school or talking through Skype until 6 in the morning (in the Philippines, that is) with your bestfriend who is in California whom you will still love, around the world and back. This one needs no explanation.

414378_1803627746157_1026581295_o75950_315342378569812_1630937269_n

Impromptu reunions with HS barkada

474176_3440856457200_23974585_o

PUP Marx Fest, March ’12

615788_294330270671023_1765604185_o

With the gorgeous Serena VD, all the way from Cali, and whom I miss terribly. Happy New Year, S!:)

So this is just a very lazy photo-heavy blog post once again I would have preferred to give depth and meaningful insight to but I am running late and I see no point in continuing this entry tomorrow since this is a year-ender post, after all. My family will be spending tonight at my father’s home and I’m supposed to be getting ready already. As I am writing this my siblings are running around the house half-naked complaining about having nothing to wear (despite having just shopped, because I said it before and I’ll say it again, we’re all very vain), and I can just feel that tonight — and 2013, of course — will be one of the greatest. :)

I promise to write/right something everyday, starting now.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

